Alfred George Richardson’s Diary September 1916

Alfred George Richardson’s Diary September 1916

HEDAUVILLE.

Friday 1st September 1916:     Cold, windy day.  Tons of mud in lines.  Couldn’t keep warm.  Weather “no bon”.

Saturday 2nd September 1916: Wet, cold day.  Delivered 266 A, 38 AX to C/247 batty at 6 pm.

HEDAUVILLE.

Sunday 3rd September 1916:   Terrific artillery bombardment, followed by infantry actions.  “The Glorious 3rd Sept”.  49th Divisional infantry opposed by a stubborn resistance.  Failure in front of Thiepval. – Hot shop.

Monday 4th September 1916:  4 am to B/247 – 400 A.  3 pm to B/247 114 A, 38 AX.  Heavy day.

HEDAUVILLE.

Tuesday 5th September 1916:  Showery.  Artillery fire terrible beyond words.  Went to “Tykes” at night.  Splendid performance.

Wednesday 6th September 1916: 456 A, 152 AX to A/247 at 8.30 am.  Many Boches aeroplanes visit us.  Two (2) bombs dropped on dump.  3 men slightly wounded, 4 horses wounded one having to be shot.  Got there practically first.  Pieces of bomb as souvenir.

HEDAUVILLE.

Thursday 7th September 1916: A quiet day.  Fine weather; gun fire never ceases.  Tremendous “straffe” at night.

Friday 8th September 1916:     Delivered 304 A, 76 AX to C/247 Battery at 7 am.  The Boche sent 16 balloons over our lines with newspapers containing slanderous matter etc.  Got one as souvenir.  Anti-aircraft fire at them.  Great joke.

HEDAUVILLE.

Saturday 9th September 1916: Rose at 7.30 am.  Fine day.  Heavy Artillery bombardment never ceases.  Received 684 A 228 AX from 49th Dump 7 pm.

Sunday 10th September 1916: Rose at 7.45 am.  Glorious day.  Great artillery duels.  456 A 152 AX to A/247 at 1.30 am.

HEDAUVILLE.

Monday 11th September 1916:  Fine day.  Artillery at it in early hours.  Nothing doing rest of day.  Busy with nominal rolls of sect etc.

Tuesday 12th September 1916: Delivered 228 A 76 AX to C/247 Batty at 1.30 am.  Glorious morn up.  Very fine but ghastly sight over        towards THIEPVAL.

 

HEDAUVILLE.

Wednesday 13th September 1916: Cold morning, early on.  Received 228 A 228 AX from Dump at 6 pm.

Thursday 14th September 1916: Delivered at 11.30 am to A/247 Battery: – 228 “A” 172  “AX”.  “Heavy” artillery duel.  Nothing doing   much at MESNIL.

HEDAUVILLE.

Friday 15th September 1916:   Awfully cold morning.  2 Boch aeroplanes over, but no bombs.  Fine in middle of day.  “Heavies” at it all        morning, great artillery duel.

 

There are no further diary entries after 15th September 1916.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s