Alfred George Richardson’s Diary Oct 1915

Alfred George Richardson’s Diary Oct 1915

 

1915 diary shows Bombardier Gunner (Signalling Dept) A. G. Richardson 4th Section, West Riding Divisional Ammunition Column R.F.A., Norfolk Barracks Sheffield.

Home Address:- Station House, Ben Rhydding near Leeds. Yorks.

 

Poperinghe.

Friday 1st October 1915:         Went for rations at 9.15.  Cold wind.  Bad headache.  Stomach upset.  Afternoon at the latrines & in the bivouac.

Saturday 2nd October 1915:    Went for rations at 9.15.  In bed with chill.  Shivering all over.  Bed all day.  Feeling rotten at night.

Sunday 3rd October 1915:       Still rotten.  Rations 9.15.  Back at noon.  Afternoon holiday.  Cold day. Reading & writing.

Monday 4th October 1915:      Went for rations 9.15.  Back at noon.  Helping to put up stables in aft.  Poperinghe bombarded.  41 shells.

Tuesday 5th October 1915:      Went for rations at 9.15.  Back at noon.  Football match.  We won 3-2, I scoring last goal.  Afternoon letter writing.

Wednesday 6th October 1915: Went for rations at 9.15.  Back at noon.  Helping Dick Clarkson to put up horse jumps.  On H.Q. Guard.  “Stood to” at 4.30 am. Cold.

Thursday 7th October 1915:    Went for rations at 8.30.  Back at 11 am.  In afternoon helping Cpt P.H. Walker with the horse jumps.  P.H.W. jumping later.

Friday 8th October 1915:         Went for rations at 8.30.  Back at 11 am.  Wrote 3 letters before dinner.  Helping T.O.B. in aft with new stabling.

Saturday 9th October 1915:     Went for rations 8.30.  Back 11 am.  Made some jelly & custard.  Afternoon – playing football.

Poperinghe & Brielen.

Sunday 10th October 1915:     Went for rations 8.30.  Afternoon holiday.  Fine & warm.  Football H.Q. guard – 15 Shells into “Pop”.

Monday 11th October 1915:    Rations 8.30.  Back at 11.  Won 3 1st prizes with mules, N.C.O’s mount & harness.  Out at Pop. For P.H.W.

Tuesday 12th October 1915:    Went for rations at 8.30.  Back at 11.  Afternoon holiday.  Football & writing letters.  Evening we had a sing-song.

Wednesday 13th October 1915: Went for rations 8.30.  Back at 11.  Helping T.O.B. with Stabling.  Afternoon holiday.  Played football.

Thursday 14th October 1915:  Rations 8.30.  Back at 11.  Stabling with Butler.  On H.Q. guard.  Not a wink of sleep.

Friday 15th October 1915:       Rations 8.30.  Went up to Battery for gun-drill.  Saw Arnold.  Attchd to B gun with Cpl W. Dawson.  Good night’s sleep amongst the shells.

Saturday 16th October 1915:   Rose at 9.30.  Cleaned B gun with W.L.D. and Ray Renwick.  Fired 6 shell per gun.  All batteries round about firing.  Terrific din.  Result: stopped German attack 3 times.

Brielen near Ypres.

Sunday 17th October 1915:     Got up 9.30.  Went potato digging with Butler.  Gun laying & drill.  Out at night with Arnold.

Monday 18th October 1915:    Got up 9.30.  Gun laying practice.  German planes give battle to some of ours.

Tuesday 19th October 1915:    Got up 9.30.  German start “clodding” Dawson’s corner & kill R.E. Colonel.  Fired 8 shell from B gun in aft.  Went to Elverdinghe bricking 12-2 am.

Wednesday 20th October 1915: Got up 9.30.  German aeroplanes over.  Air duel.  Clodding the wood by the enemy.  Fired 10 shell per gun.  Went to Brielen village with Arnold.

Thursday 21st October 1915:  Rose at 5.30. & went with Horace Tennant down to O.P. & beyond.  Heavy artillery fired on both sides.  11th Battery in action.  Tenant & I between 2 fires.  30 shells near us.

Friday 22nd October 1915:      Rose at 9.30.  D gun firing 40 lb shells.  Quite a success.  We fired 8 rounds 50 lbs.  Playing at games at night.

Saturday 23rd October 1915:   Up at 9.30. Dawson goes to Wagon lines.  Sergt Gee back from leave.  Quiet day.

N.B. We knocked two trench mortars out of action on Friday.

Sunday 24th October 1915:     Got up 9.30.  My 19th Birthday.  Had a lovely tea with Arnold & Sergt Gee.  Beautiful cake from home.  Grand day.

Monday 25th October 1915:    Got up 9.30.  Terribly wet, 1st wet day for weeks.  Stayed in dug-out writing letters & playing games.            Gramophone on.

Tuesday 26th October 1915:    Rose at 9.30.  Potato digging.  Wet day.  Amused ourselves all day with gramophone, letter writing &           reading.

Wednesday 27th October 1915: Rose at 9.30.              Went to billets for meals.  In Brielen with Arnold shopping.  Fine day.  Many aeroplane fights.  Very thrilling.

Thursday 28th October 1915:  Rose at 9.30.  “D” gun firing 40 lb shells.  Quite a success.  Firing at German transports at Pilkem Cross Roads.

Friday 29th October 1915:       Rose at 9.30.  Fine day.  Firing 40 lb shell by aeroplane observation.  Went bricking to Elverdinghe 12 – 2 am.

Saturday 30th October 1915:   Rose at 9.30.  Fine day.  Aeroplanes up again & fighting enemy planes.  Fine sight.  2 “Archies” in action at billet.

Wagon Lines (1st) Poperinghe

Sunday 31st October 1915:     Rose at 9.30!  Potato digging.  Fine day, indeed, the last fine day for some time to come.  Aeroplane battles.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s