Alfred George Richardson’s March Diary 1916

Alfred George Richardson’s March Diary 1916

Bavelincourt.

Wednesday 1st March 1916:   Went to Warloy-Baillon at 10.30 am for rations.  Extra rations drawn from other A.S.C dumps.  Waited in        Warloy until 5 pm for 3 extra wagons.  Had dinner with Arnold, photos taken together & listened to Div Band           all aft.  Returned at 6 pm.

Thursday 2nd March 1916:      Went to Warloy-Baillon at 10.30 to draw rations.  Drew extra rations for men, who have been attached to A.S.C. & who have now returned.  On Guard at night, with Harry Clough.

Friday 3rd March 1916:           Went to Warloy-Baillon for rations at 10.30 & returned at 2.30 pm. Reading & writing.

Saturday 4th March 1916:       Went to Warloy-Baillon for rations 10.30 – 3 pm. gramophone on at night.

Sunday 5th March 1916:          Went to Warloy-Baillon for rations.  Gathered some balm at Vadencourt.  Returned at 3 pm.

Monday 6th March 1916:        Went to Warloy-Baillon for rations at 10.30.  Saw Arnold.

Tuesday 7th March 1916:        Went to Warloy-Baillon for rations.  Saw Arnold & had a look over 4.5” Howitzer.

Wednesday 8th March 1916:   Went to Warloy-Baillon for rations.

Thursday 9th March 1916:       Went to Rubempre for rations, via Contay, & Herissart.  Drew at 10 am.  Returned via Pierregot & Molliens-au-Bois & Beaucoutt.

Friday 10th March 1916:         Went to Rubempre at 4 pm to draw rations via Pierregot, Molliens-au-Bain & Beaucourt-sur-l’Hallue.  Returned at 10 pm.

Saturday 11th March 1916:     Went to Rubempre for rations.  Fine day.  Drew at 6 pm.  Returned at 11 pm.

Sunday 12th March 1916:        Went to Rubempre at 4 pm.  Canns rather drunk.  Struck in an estaminet by a French civilian, he fairly gives him one & knocks him down.  Returned at 10 pm.

Monday 13th March 1916:      Went to Rubempre at 4 pm for rations & returned at 10 pm.  Lovely night & a nice ride.  7 miles each way.

Tuesday 14th March 1916:      Went to Rubempre at 4 pm & returned at 11 pm.

Wednesday 15th March 1916: Rubempre at 4 pm & returned at 11 pm.  Had a lovely ride.

Thursday 16th March 1916:     Went for rations at 11 am to Rubempre & returned at 3.30 pm.  Nice day.  Gramophone at night.

Friday 17th March 1916:         Went for rations at 11 am at Rubempre & returned at 3.30.  Kingswell, Cains & co attd to 10th Army Corps to make gun pits up near the line.

Saturday 18th March 1916:     Went for rations at 11 am to Rubempre. Gramophone.

Sunday 19th March 1916:        Went to Rubempre at 11 am for rations.

Monday 20th March 1916:      Went to Rubempre for rations.

Tuesday 21st March 1916:       Went to Rubempre for rations.

Wednesday 22nd March 1916: Went to Rubempre for rations.

Thursday 23rd March 1916:     Went to Rubempre for rations.

Friday 24th March 1916:         Went to Rubempre for rations.

Bavelincourt – Rubempre.

Saturday 25th March 1916:     Reveille 5 am.  Busy packing up.  Left with Jack Hutson on billeting party, at 9 am & arrived Rubempre at 10.15 am.  Found billets for horses & men who arrived at 1 pm.  Drew rations at 2.30 pm.  On Guard at night.  Very cold.  No shelter.

Sunday 26th March 1916:        Stawed to the bone with cold.  Had hot coffee at 6 am at a house.  Settling down in new quarters.  Fine barn & a lovely house.  (Marthe Sasre)  Helped Pattison with his horses & found him some grand stables.  Rations Dump at 1 pm.

Rubempre.

Monday 27th March 1916:      Rose at 8.  Helped Pattison with stables & harness.  Rations at 11 am.  Went to the Dump at 12.30 & drew for tomorrow.  Out in village at night.

Tuesday 28th March 1916:      Rose at 8 am – Breakfast in bed, 2 fried eggs & bacon. Helped Pattison with harness.  Rations at 11 am.  Went to A.S.C. dump at 12.30.  Spent afternoon reading & writing.

Pernois.

Wednesday 29th March 1916: Rose at 8.  Fried eggs & bacon.  Dinner at the farm – omelettes apples & cider etc with Eagle.  With Jock        Hutson on the advance party – I going on Clarkson’s bike.  Went through Talmas, Havernas & Canaples to Pernois.  Drew rations at Heavens at 11 pm & returned at 1 am.  Tired out.

Thursday 30th March 1916:     Got into bed at 1 am.  Rose at 6am.  Extremely cold on a damp floor – never slept a wink.  Went to Heavens to draw rations at 10.30 am & returned at 2.30 pm.  On Guard at night.  Playing football a bit.  Gramophone in the tent.  Tired.

Friday 31st March 1916:          Gave Reveille at 6 am.  Had a hot coffee in village.  Drew rations near Canaples.  Saw Arnold & had a good chat with him.  Went on bike & returned at 1 pm.  Nice & hot.  Capt Walker catches 10 trout in stream.

Saturday 1st April 1916:          Rose at 7 am.  Went for rations to Canaples.  On Clarkson’s bike & returned at 1 pm.  Lovely day – Had a “sunbathe”.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s