Alfred George Richardson’s Diary Aug 1915

Alfred George Richardson’s Diary Aug 1915

 

1915 diary shows Bombardier Gunner (Signalling Dept) A. G. Richardson 4th Section, West Riding Divisional Ammunition Column R.F.A., Norfolk Barracks Sheffield.

Home Address:- Station House, Ben Rhydding near Leeds. Yorks.

 

Poperinghe.

Sunday 1st August 1915:        Went to Peselhoek for rations at 7.  H.Q. 11 am.  Letters 12 noon.  Afternoon holiday.  Writing.

Monday 2nd August 1915:      Went to place past 1st Sect for rations at 7.  Afternoon reading & writing.  Exercising at night.

Tuesday 3rd August 1915:       Went “sur la route a West Vletern” [Westvleteren] for rations at 7.  Interpreter at trial of A. & S.H. charged with stealing from Belgian.  On Guard H.Q.

Wednesday 4th August 1915: Midnight.  Poperinghe shelled.  23 “Jack Johnsons.” Anniversary of Declaration of War!  Went for rations at 7.  Afternoon holiday.

Thursday 5th August 1915:     Went to Peselhoek for rations at 7.  Out exercising mules at night.  Fell off!  Poperinghe shelled.  23 “Jack Johnsons”.

Friday 6th August 1915:          Went for rations at 10 am.  Back at 11.30 am.  Letters noon.  Afternoon writing & reading.

Saturday 7th August 1915:      Went for rations at 10 am.  Letters at noon.  Afternoon holiday.  Fine.

Sunday 8th August 1915:        Went for rations at 10 am.  Letters at noon.  Aft asleep. Out at night with Eagle.

Monday 9th August 1915:       Went for rations at 10 am.  Letters at noon.  Fine day.  Terrific bombardment from 2.30 am – 6 am.  British retake all lost trenches.

Tuesday 10th August 1915:     Went for rations at 10 am.  Letters at noon.  Out with Eagle & Lawson near P.  Cigars & wine.

Wednesday 11th August 1915: Went for rations at 10 am.  Letters noon.  Aft holiday. Reading & writing.  Went out exercising at    night.

Thursday 12th August 1915:   Went for rations at 10 am.  Letters at noon.  Wet.  Thunderstorm all afternoon.  Almost flooded out.

Friday 13th August 1915:        Went for rations at 10 am.  Raining.  Letters at noon.  Afternoon writing letters.

Saturday 14th August 1915:    Went for rations at 10.  Went to Poperinghe with G. Smith for Mr Walker.  Shelled by Germans ½ hour          after.  14 17 in.  In bed at 8 pm.

Sunday 15th August 1915:      Went for rations at 9.15 am.  Received pcl from Home & Mrs Harrison.  Letter from A. Beaumont, Miss Baines & J Decelle.

Monday 16th August 1915:     Went for rations at 9.15 am.  Letters at noon.  Parcel from Home.  Out exercising at night.

Tuesday 17th August 1915:     Went for rations at 9.15 am.  Letters at noon.              Went to see Arnold up at guns.  Exciting time 20 shrapnel burst over Dawson & I.  Narrow escape.

Wednesday 18th August 1915: Went for rations at 9.15.  Letters at noon.  Afternoon out with Sergt Hewitt finding a forge.

Thursday 19th August 1915:   Went for rations at 9.15 am.  Letters at noon.  Afternoon reading & writing.  On Guard at H.Q. at 6 pm.

Friday 20th August 1915:        Went for rations at 9.15 am.  Letters at noon.  Afternoon asleep.  Out at night with Lawson & Eagle.

Saturday 21st August 1915:    Went for rations at 9.15.  Raining fast.  Wet through.  Afternoon spent writing letters.

Sunday 22nd August 1915:      Went for rations at 9.15 am.  Letters at noon.              Arnold & Wilf Dawson visit me.  Ripping day.  6 German aeroplanes over.

Monday 23rd August 1915:     Went for rations at 9.15 am.  Letters at noon.  Went to H.Q. for stores.  On guard at H.Q.  Row with C.Q.M.S. about sack of f***.

Tuesday 24th August 1915:     Went for rations at 9.15.  Letters noon.  Brought 2 cooks up before P.H.W.  Result: – 5 days C.B. for both.  Out exercising at night.

Wednesday 25th August 1915: Went for rations at 9.15.  Letters noon.  Aft spent reading & writing.

Thursday 26th August 1915:   Went for forage & rations at 9.15 am.  Letters at noon.  Aft holiday.  Exercising at night.

Friday 27th August 1915:        Went for forage & rations at 9.15 am.  Letters 12 noon. Aft holiday.  On Guard at H.Q.

Saturday 28th August 1915:    Went to Lovie Chateau H.Q. R.E. Sigs for a 10 days’ course in Telephony.  Arrived there 12 noon.  Walked to Proven in aft.  Concert at night which was excellent.  Made a bivouac with Bomber Chris Hatch (11th) & Meakes (10th Bt).

Lovie Chateau

Sunday 29th August 1915:      Reveille 5 am!!  Full Dress Parade before Major Grubb at 9 am. Holiday Rest of Day.  Fine weather.

Monday 30th August 1915:     Lecture by Lieut Wells.  Went out & laid a cable to Convent St. Sixte.   Back at 3 pm.  Tired.  Rested &         went to bed early.

Tuesday 31st August 1915:     Lecture by Lieut Wells.  Out with cable cart fixing air line to Convent St. Sixte.  Long job.  Tired.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s